Engineering

Engineering
Our specialist engineers provide advice and support to Welsh Government and NHS Wales on the following healthcare engineering systems:
  • Decontamination – sterilizers, washer-disinfectors, endoscope reprocessors
  • High voltage
  • Low voltage
  • Medical gas pipeline systems
  • Specialist ventilation and air conditioning systems – ultra-clean facilities, eg operating theatres, ICU
  • Water services

Our services

  • authorising engineering services
  • validation services
  • special investigations
  • advice on NHS and Welsh Government technical engineering guidance in hospitals
  • advice on departmental layout, operation of equipment and calibration
  • guidance on technical specifications of equipment for new-build or refurbishment
 

List of designated persons

 

The Team

Simon Russell
Head of Engineering
02920 904100
Simon.Russell@wales.nhs.uk
High voltage, Low voltage, Lifts,
Authorising Engineer
Jeff Willis
Performance Standards Engineer
02920 904105
Jeff.Willis@wales.nhs.uk Ventilation
Christopher East
Senior Performance Engineer (Medical Gases)
02920 904102
Chris.East@wales.nhs.uk Medical gases, Authorising Engineer
Mark Gapper
Senior Performance Standards Engineer (Water)
02920 904092
Mark.Gapper@wales.nhs.uk
Water, Authorising Engineer
Stephen Rees
Performance Standards Engineer
02920 904198
Stephen.Rees2@wales.nhs.uk
Low voltage, Lifts
Nigel Bolan
Senior Performance Standards Engineer
02920 904091
Nigel.Bolan@wales.nhs.uk Low voltage, Authorising Engineer
John Prendergast
Senior Decontamination Engineer
02920 904097
John.Prendergast@wales.nhs.uk
Decontamination, Authorising Engineer
Peter Davies
Decontamination Engineer
02920 904093
Peter.Davies12@wales.nhs.uk Decontamination
Peter Barrow
Decontamination Engineer
02920 904090
Peter.M.Barrow@wales.nhs.uk Decontamination
TBA
Decontamination Engineer
02920 904101
  Decontamination
Nigel Baker
Performance Standards Engineer
02920 904101
Nigel.Baker@wales.nhs.uk
Performance Standards Engineer
Simon Griffiths Decontamination Engineer 02920 904086 Simon.Griffiths2@wales.nhs.uk Decontamination
Tony Goddard Performance Standards Engineer 02920 904086 Anthony.Goddard@wales.nhs.uk High voltage